Back to all Award Winners

2000 - Martin Adams, Derek Russell & Frank van Rompuy

Paul Hilton accepting the Award on behalf of the team

Receiving the award on behalf of the team, 
Paul Hilton (right), Laser Technology Manager at TWI

The AILU AWARD for 2000
went to
Derek Russell, Martin Adams & Franz van Rompuy

During the members’ meeting in Liverpool on 28 October, the AILU Award 2000 was presented to the team that developed the first fast axial flow laser: Derek Russell, Martin Adams, and Franz van Rompuy. Receiving the award on behalf of the team, Paul Hilton (right), Laser Technology Manager at TWI, described their work and entertained the audience with TV footage from TWI archives.

MArtin Adams

Martin Adams at the first 2kW fast axial flow CO2 laser.

Paul read out an e-mail he had received from Kumar Patel, inventor of the CO2 laser, congratulating the team ‘for their contribution to the development of the fast axial flow CO2 laser for producing kilowatt levels of infrared power. This has contributed significantly to the use of high power lasers in a variety of exacting laser materials processing applications.’

Back to top