20 June 2008

Eckhard Beyer Awarded Prestigious 2008 Arthur L. Schawlow Award in Laser Science and Engineering

Dr. Eckhard Beyer, Professor at the University of Technology Dresden and Executive Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Technology IWS in Germany, has joined the “who’s who” list of extraordinary  laser pioneers. He was recently awarded the highly distinguished 2008 Arthur L.  Schawlow Award for his outstanding contributions to laser science and engineering.

“The Laser Institute of America first presented the Schawlow Award in 1982 to recognize individuals who have made distinguished contributions to applications of lasers in science, industry, education and medicine,” said Peter Baker, Executive Director of LIA. “Prof. Beyer joins a world-renowned list of past winners including Arthur Schawlow and Arthur Guenther.”

Prof. Beyer’s accomplishments span more than 20 years. One of his first significant achievements was the development of a rotating hollow needle for beam diagnostics, which is still in production world-wide. In the late 1980s, he achieved several important patents in the field of intelligent process control during laser cutting and welding. In 1994, Prof. Beyer presented the first laser hybrid process for deep penetration welding at ICALEO®, and he is a recognized authority in laser hybrid welding, laser coating and novel laser beam techniques.

Prof. Beyer became the Executive Director of the Fraunhofer Institute in 1997, where his leadership has helped to launch the organization into world-class status as a research and development center for laser surface engineering and coatings, and laser materials processing. During this year, he was also appointed to Professor of Laser and Surface Engineering at the University of Technology at Dresden. Throughout his accomplished career, Prof. Beyer served the industry with consistent leadership in educational initiatives.
He served as president of the LIA, chaired numerous LIA technical conferences, and implemented new concepts to promote LIA technology. Nominations for the Arthur L. Schawlow Award are open to candidates who have made outstanding contributions to basic and applied research in laser science and engineering. Nominees must be endorsed by at least three prominent individuals in the field.The Award will be presented to Prof. Beyer at LIA’s International Congress on the Applications of Lasers & Electro-Optics (ICALEO®) in Temecula, CA on October, 22, 2008.

Laser Institute of America (LIA) is the international society for laser applications and safety that has served the industrial, educational, medical, research, and government communities throughout the world since 1968. LIA is the secretariat and publisher of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Z136 series of laser safety standards. For more information, visit:

Back to top