13 April 2017

EPIC Phoenix Award is presented to SCANLAB for their 'exemplary entrepreneurship in photonics'

Next Scan Technology, polygon scanner expert and an associated company with SCANLAB GmbH, was presented the prestigious EPIC Phoenix Award 2017 that recognises exemplary entrepreneurship in photonics. The European Photonics Industry Consortium (EPIC) presented Next Scan Technology’s management as the winner during its annual general meeting in Eindhoven, the Netherlands.

EPIC is an industry consortium that promotes sustainable development of organisations working in the field of photonics in Europe.

Its members encompass the entire value chain from LED lighting, photovoltaic solar energy, photonic integrated circuits, optical components, lasers and sensors to imaging, displays, projectors, optic fibre, and other photonic-related technologies. 

The Consortiums annually presents the EPIC Phoenix Award to a company that successfully overcame market and industry challenges through perseverance and true entrepreneurship. The EPIC Phoenix award is a symbol of daily changing realities that entrepreneurs face and the provocative journey this entails.

In 2017, the award was granted to the management of the Belgium company Next Scan Technology. Next Scan Technology’s wide range of polygon scan systems enables demanding material processing applications combined with legacy and ultra-short pulsed lasers. 

“Ronny De Loor and I are really proud to receive this EPIC Phoenix award. For us, it is an honour and recognition to be elected by such a remarkable group of European entrepreneurs in photonics.

From the very beginning, we believed in the opportunity to address an uncharted area in laser material processing. Since timing determines the necessity of an enabling technology, we are encouraged and convinced that we will grow with our partner SCANLAB addressing the markets of the future and will make further contributions to the EPIC community,” comments Lars Penning, CEO and co-founder of Next Scan Technology, the reception of the award.


Back to top