About Us

Officers & Committee

Officers 2020-2021

President: Adam Clare

Adam Clare is Professor of Manufacturing Engineering & Faculty Director of Admissions, Faculty of Engineering, University of Nottingham. His research focuses on the use of non-traditional manufacturing methods to arrive at net shape while inducing favorable material properties and generating new surfaces on engineering components. He is particularly interested in developing new manufacturing methods and materials for use in the high value manufacturing sectors including aerospace and biomedical engineering.





Vice President: Mike Poulter

Mike Poulter is Global Product Manager at TRUMPF. He has considerable experience in the laser industry having previously worked at STFC (Rutherford), Powerlase Photonics and SPI Lasers.






Executive Director: Dave MacLellan

Dave MacLellan has an engineering degree from Manchester University and more than 30 years of industrial experience in design, manufacturing, sales & marketing. In particular, he brings 25 years experience in the laser industry at JK Lasers and Rofin Baasel, working in sales, marketing, applications, training & project management and he has an extensive network of contacts in the laser community. In 2014 he established Anode Marketing, offering marketing skills, content creation for the web, social media experience, digital photography & editing.

There is a maximum of twelve Ordinary Members (3-year term) on the Committee and 6 Co-opted members (1-yesr term). Each year at the AGM in April there are four Ordinary Member positions available for election. Ex-Presidents and Founder Members are Honorary Committee Members.

Ordinary Members 2021-2022:

Elected until 2024
Cliff Jolliffe (PI)
Tara Murphy (NKP Photonics)
Danijela Rostohar (HiLASE)
Tian Long See (MTC)

Elected until 2023
Paola De Bono (TWI)
Tom Chaffer (TRUMPF)
Clive Grafton-Reed (Rolls-Royce)

Elected until 2022
Richard Carter (Heriot-Watt University)
Hollie Denney (II-VI)
Matthew Wasley (Knowledge Transfer Network)
Prveen Bidare (University of Birmingham)

Jonathan Lawrence    (Coventry University)
Mark Millar      (Essex Laser)
Tony Jones      (Cyan Tec Systems)
Derrick Jepson (Aerotech)
Arina Mohammed (University of Hull)
Sinan Bilgin (SS Laser Solutions)


  • Mike Green, Pro Laser
  • John Powell, Laser Expertise
  • Malcolm Gower, Imperial College London

Ex Presidents:

    1995 - 2003 Bill Steen
    2003 - 2004 Tim Weedon
    2004 - 2005 Paul Hilton
    2005 - 2006 Malcolm Gower
    2006 - 2007 Tim Holt
    2007 - 2008 Clive Ireland
    2008 - 2010 Stewart Williams
    2010 - 2011 Paul Hilton
    2011 - 2013 Martin Sharp
    2013 - 2015 Neil Main
    2015 - 2017 Ric Allott
    2017 - 2019 Lin Li
    2019 - 2021 Jonathan Blackburn

Back to top