The organisation of AILU is under the direction of an elected standing committee made up of representatives from the UK industrial laser community. Elections are held annually at the Annual General Meeting.

Committee 2022-2023

President: Adam Clare

Adam Clare is Professor of Manufacturing Engineering & Faculty Director of Admissions, Faculty of Engineering, University of Nottingham. His research focuses on the use of non-traditional manufacturing methods to arrive at net shape while inducing favorable material properties and generating new surfaces on engineering components. He is particularly interested in developing new manufacturing methods and materials for use in the high value manufacturing sectors including aerospace and biomedical engineering.



Vice President: Mike Poulter

Mike Poulter has over 20 years of experience in the research, development, and application of industrial lasers. He holds a degree in applied physics and is a Doctor of Engineering in photonics, specializing in the design of solid-state lasers for display panel production and EUV lithography. Mike is Global Product Manger at TRUMPF and has previously held technical and leadership roles at SPI Lasers, Honeywell, Powerlase Photonics and STFC (Rutherford) developing ultra-fast sources for frontier research and nanosecond pulsed lasers for industrial material processing.



Executive Director: Dave MacLellan

Dave MacLellan has an engineering degree from Manchester University and more than 30 years of industrial experience in design, manufacturing, sales & marketing. In particular, he brings 25 years experience in the laser industry at JK Lasers and Rofin Baasel, working in sales, marketing, applications, training & project management and he has an extensive network of contacts in the laser community. In 2014 he established Anode Marketing, offering marketing skills, content creation for the web, social media experience, digital photography & editing.


There is a maximum of twelve Ordinary Members (3-year term) on the Committee and 6 Co-opted members (1-year term). Each year at the AGM there are four Ordinary Member positions available for election. Ex-Presidents and Founder Members are Honorary Committee Members.


Ordinary Members 2021-2022

Elected until 2025
Rachel McBain (Laser Trader)
Jamie Costello (Coherent)
Prveen Bidare (University of Birmingham)
Chris Waters (Micrometric)

Elected until 2024
Cliff Jolliffe (PI)
Sinan Bilgin (SS Laser Solutions)
Danijela Rostohar (HiLASE)
Tian Long See (MTC)

Elected until 2023
Paola De Bono (TWI)
Tom Chaffer (TRUMPF)
Clive Grafton-Reed (Rolls-Royce)

Co-opted until 2023
Mark Millar (Essex Laser)
Tony Jones (Cyan Tec Systems)
Derrick Jepson (Aerotech)
Richard Carter (Heriot-Watt University)

Mike Green (Pro Laser)
John Powell (Laser Expertise)
Malcolm Gower (Imperial College London)


Ex Presidents

1995 – 2003  Bill Steen
2003 – 2004  Tim Weedon
2004 – 2005  Paul Hilton
2005 – 2006  Malcolm Gower
2006 – 2007  Tim Holt
2007 – 2008  Clive Ireland
2008 – 2010  Stewart Williams
2010 – 2011  Paul Hilton
2011 – 2013  Martin Sharp
2013 – 2015  Neil Main
2015 – 2017  Ric Allott
2017 – 2019  Lin Li
2019 – 2021  Jonathan Blackburn

Thinking of joining the AILU Committee?

Each year, together with the advanced notice of the AGM, members are sent invitations to join the committee as ordinary members or as officers of the committee.

Membership of the committee provides opportunities for networking and to influence the way the Association develops. For further information or to express an interest in joining, please contact the Executive Director at any time.